Keloid

I keloid– A keloids is a growth of extra scar tissue where the skin has healed after an injury.

My scar looked so good the first couple of weeks–flat, smooth, small, as perfect a scar can be–then it began transforming. It is now raised, pink, stretched, wider at the bottom than the top, and it just looks so much like a worm!

I can handle the appearance. As one friend put it, “It looks like you have really high cleavage.” I took it as a compliment…

What I can’t handle is the itching and burning. It began 2 months ago. I thought it was because I started working out so I took a 2 week break. It didn’t help.

I realized it was the scar making its presence known. It will not be forgotten; it keeps me up at night, it hunches me over during the day. This evening I want to cut it off of me and let it burn for real. But that is crazy and disgusting, so, instead, I’m going to buy some tea tree oil and hope it’s insistent nagging will cease!

Author: heidi

I didn't know what I wanted to be when I grew up.

Leave a Reply

