I went to the ER on Sunday. The left side of my chest had been hurting for a couple weeks and then on Saturday and Sunday I was breathy and lethargic. I did not want to go to the ER. I knew what they would tell me and I did not want to hear it, but my mom insisted we go.

We are lowering my prednisone dose because I am having miserable side effects (mood swings, severe depression, weight gain, my teeth ache, and more). The prednisone is to treat the pericarditis that occurred after my surgery. My doctor was worried that lowering my dose would make the pericarditis come back.

I knew they would tell me the pericarditis is back. I was right. I was put on 1200mg ibuprofen a day and instructed to up my pred from 15mg to 25mg if the pain hasn’t gone away in 24 hours. It’s been more than 24 hours, I’m still in pain and breathy. Tomorrow morning I will up my prednisone.

I have been taking one step forward and two steps back for the last 4 months. None of this is easy and I don’t see it getting any easier in the near future. I have an MRI and doctors appointment in Portland on the 16th. Fingers crossed they have something encouraging to say.

Author: heidi

I didn't know what I wanted to be when I grew up.

2 thoughts on “”

  1. Oh Heidi! I just realized you had this blog and I’ve been sitting here reading it and (sorry, but tearing up too)instead of going to work. You are such a beautiful woman and so brave to bare your soul to us. I appreciate being able to know how you are doing without having to make you or your mom constantly relive it! Of course my thoughts and prayers are with you. I always think of you as “our” bunko baby and remembering sneaking you a few M&Ms so you would come and see me as we played that crazy game! I love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

