No Methotrexate!

Today began with a phone call from the cardiologist who does not say goodbye. I contacted him because I gained 4 lbs in two days which can be an indication of pericardial effusion-fluid around the heart. He wanted me to have an echocardiogram at 1:00, right before seeing rheumatology.
I went to check-in for my echo and there had been no appointment scheduled for me. I was not happy with the cardiologist. The receptionist called around and a technician at the hospital had an opening. We were at the clinic by the river so we jumped on the tram.
While in the waiting room, cardiologist 2 and 3 (cardiologist 1 is still on vacay) walked by and saw me. They both sat down and started asking about my weight gain. Then #2 sat next to me and took one of my hands while #3 kneeled and held one of my feet. They were checking the puffiness, but it was hilarious and I loved it! Them taking that extra moment out of what they were doing to chat with me while I waited restored the faith a little bit.
The echocardiogram was clean–no water on the heart!
Then! Then! The rheumatologist decided she did not want to put me on methotrexate! When I was first diagnosed with pericarditis right after my surgery they put me on a high dose of ibuprofen and also colchicine-an anti-inflammatory used for gout. She felt the cardiologists had not used the colchicine and ibuprofen to its greatest potential. It did not work the first time we tried it, but she is almost doubling the doses. I should know within a week if it is going to work.
The plan is to take the ibuprofen and colchicine along with the prednisone for a month and, if my body is responding well, we will begin tapering off the prednisone.
I cannot wait for the pain to be gone and to begin life again! If it works! I hope it works!

Author: heidsy

I didn't know what I wanted to be when I grew up.

1 thought on “No Methotrexate!”

Leave a Reply

